India thrashes Bangladesh by 9 wickets to storm in their 4th ICC Champions Trophy Final on Sunday.


India was on song against the minnows Bangladesh. Their bowlers demolished the weak batting line up and then it was Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and Skipper Virat Kohli’s heroics that took India home.

Bangladesh, playing their first Champions Trophy semi final were not in the game at all, it was just like the warm up which India and Bangladesh played at start of the tournament.

But the difference here was India won the toss and decided to bowl first. Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s accuracy with the new ball is always spot on. He opened India account by picking up Bangla Opener Soumya Sarkar for nought in the 1st over.

Sabbir Rahman took the responsibility to construct the innings with man in form Tamim Iqbal. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was in such good form that he got Sabbir Rahman’s wicket for just 19 runs.

Bangladesh was wobbling by losing 2 batsmen in the second over. Then man in form Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim got together and repaired Bangladesh’s innings.

The opener and the number 3 batsmen of Bangladesh were playing the Indian bowlers well. In the middle overs the duo of Bangladesh played Ashwin and Jadeja very sensibly, Ashwin leaked runs in those middle overs.

Their partnership was threatening to put up a big score. But Kohli’s introduction to Kedar Jhadav in those overs was the turning point of the match.

Kedar Jhadav has broken many partnerships for India in past. He has that golden arm to do a great job. In this match also Kedar was spot on. He was able to pick the wicket of set Tamim Iqbal. He successfully broke this 123 run stand which set off the chain in the Indian camp. Tamim Iqbal couldn’t cash in this opportunity; he was out for 70 runs.

Like many games in this Champions Trophy, one wicket set the chain that brings 2 or 3 more wickets.

India managed to contain at the same Bangladesh batsmen were gifting their wickets to the Indian bowlers.

After the wicket of Tamim Iqbal, number 1 all rounder Shakib Al Hasan was dismissed early by Ravindra Jadeja for just 15 runs.

In the next over Kedar Jhadav again dismissed Mushfiqur Rahim for 61 runs Rahim hit the ball straight to the Indian captain Virat Kohli, who standing at midwicket.

Mosaddek Hossain’s 15 run knock was ended by Jasprit Bumrah when he caught Hossain of his own bowling.

This was a good passage of play where Indian bowlers weren’t conceding too many runs and plus they were picking up important wickets.

Bangladesh wanted some quick runs, all was left to Mahmudullah to guide Bangladesh to good score.

Unfortunately for Bangladesh Bumrah’s Yorkers are to difficult to handle in these last few overs. Mahmudullah was clean bowled by Jasprit Bumrah for just 21 runs.

Captain Masharfe Mortoza and pace bowler Taskin Ahmed managed some runs to take Bangladesh to 264 runs in their 50 overs.

It was a strong comeback by the Indian bowlers. Apart from Ravichandran Ashwin and Hardik Pandya all bowlers picked up wickets.

Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuneshwar Kumar Kumar and Kedar Jhadav picked 2 wickets each and Ravindra Jadeja picked up 1 wicket to his name.

Chasing the target of 265 for a win, Indian openers were again solid. They gave a good start to chase down this small total.

Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma continued their dominance against the weak Bangladeshi bowlers.

Their 87 run stand put India in total command of this game.

Bangladesh’s skipper Mashrafe Mortoza picked up Shikhar Dhawan for 46. He was the only Bangladeshi bowler to pick up a wicket in that match.

No Bangladeshi bowlers troubled the Indian batsmen.

It was a brilliant batting show by “Hit Man” Rohit Sharma and skipper Virat Kohli.

They shared an unbeaten 178 run stand to take their team through to the finals.

Rohit scored his 1st hundred in the Champions Trophy and he was not out on 123 runs.

Skipper Kohli became the fastest batsmen to smash 8,000 ODI runs.

India comfortably won the match by 9 wickets and 59 balls to spare.

Man of the match was awarded to Rohit Hit Man Sharma for his wonderful knock of 123 not out.

Next Match – ICC Champions Trophy Final between India and Pakistan of 18th June 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.