India to Tour the Lankan Island for 3 Test matches, 5 One Day International Matches and 1 T20 game.

After defeating the Windies in the ODI series at their own backyard, Team India will tour to Sri Lanka for 3 test matches, 5 One Day Internationals and a lone T20 game.   

India who won the test series 2-1 in 2015 are expected to deliver the same sought of performance in this tour as well. Virat and his men now have the best chance to do it. As the Indian team will travel with the Head Coach this time around, India toured West Indies without the services of the Head Coach.

After Anil Kumble’s resign from the post, Ravi Shastri has been named as the Head Coach of the Indian team.

On the other hand the home team Sri Lanka will be satisfied with their win over Zimbabwe. Sri Lanka chased down the record target to win that lone test match. It was a good win for the hosts especially after losing the ODI series 3-2.

For Sri Lanka Angelo Matthews step down from the captaincy, Matthews took this decision after losing the One Day series to a low ranked team Zimbabwe.

Sri Lanka has named Dinesh Chandimal as their test captain and Upul Tharanga will captain the Lankans in One Day Internationals  and T20s.

For Dinesh Chandimal, it was a great start to his captaincy career. That win against Zimbabwe was great. This might set the tone for the upcoming series against India at their home.

The first test starts on the 26th July 2017 and the tour will end on September 6th 2017 with a lone T20 game.

The Schedule of India tour of Sri Lanka is –

[table “19” not found /]

The tour will end with the lone T20 game on 06 September 2017. This one off T20 match will be played at R Premadasa Stadium, in Colombo.

     The teams for the 3 match Test Series –

India have made few changes in their squad from the last test match played in March against Australia.

India have recalled KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma into the squad and Murali Vijay has been ruled out of the test series due to injury. Mean while India’s second triple centurion has been dropped. Karun Nair has been replaced by Rohit Sharma in the squad.

Nair hasn’t performed well for India in the longer version of the game after scoring 303 against England.  So he is out of the test team.

Indian Squad for the test matches is –

Kohli (C), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Pujara, Rahane, Saha, Jadeja, Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Mohd Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Abhinav Mukund.

For Sri Lanka it is a huge blow, skipper Dinesh Chandimal will be missing from the first 2 test matches due to suspected pneumonia.

The senior most bowler has been given the responsibility of leading the test team for the first two test matches. Rangana Herath will lead the Sri Lankan team in absence of Dinesh Chandimal.

The 15 member squad of the Sri Lankan team is   Upal Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Malinda Pushpakumara, Nuwan Pradeep, Rangana Herath (C)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.