India will tour the Caribbean for the One Day International series and 1 T20


After the decent show in recently concluded Champions Trophy in England & Wales, Team India will tour the island nation for limited series.

India is all set to play 5 One Day International matches and 1 T20 with West Indies at their home.

The tour will start form the 23rd June 2017 at Port of Spain.  On this tour Team India will look to put the final’s loss against Pakistan behind. India needs to get back to its winning ways because after this tour Kohli and Co will tour another island nation for 3 test matches, 5 One Day Internationals matches and a lone T20 match. These matches will be played against Sri Lanka at their home turf. This tour will start on 19th July 2017, so really there is no rest for the Men in Blue.

On the other hand the hosts, West Indies didn’t take part in this edition of the ICC Champions Trophy.

Instead of them Bangladesh took part in this ICC event after 2006. The Windies were not in the top 8 ODI rankings that’s why they missed this tournament for the first time since 1998.

But West Indies have played some good cricket; the Windies won the T20 series 3-0 against Afghanistan.  In the 3 match ODI series West Indies and Afghanistan shared the series 1-1 due to the last ODI match was washed out because of constant rain at Gros Islet.

Last year under Virat Kohli’s captaincy Indian team toured the West Indies for 4 test matches. Kohli and his men outplayed the hosts in that test series. It was a pure brilliance performance from skipper Kohli himself and rest of the players, due to that India won the series 2-0.

India and West Indies also traveled to Florida for 2 match T20 series. That was MS Dhoni’s last series as India’s T20 captain. Despite of KL Rahul’s superb hundred in the first T20 game India still lost the match and the series 2-0.

For this tour of the Windies, India has rested their quality opener Rohit Sharma and pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah. Instead of them Rishab Pant and spinner Kuldeep Yadav has been drafted in the squad.

Team India will be without their head coach Anil Kumble. Kumble resigned as head coach after the Champions Trophy. India might travel to West Indies without a coach. Sehwag however seems quite eager to fill the large shoes, left behind by Kumble.

The Indian squad for the ODIs and T20s series against West Indies are –

Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav and Dinesh Karthik.

For the hosts West Indies, they have named an unchanged squad for first two ODIs.

The West Indian squad for ODIs and T20s series against India are –

 Jason Holder (captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammad, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Kesrick Williams.

The schedule for the 5 ODIs and 1 T20 matches between India Vs West Indies are –

[table “16” not found /]

The last match of the tour will be played as a T20 match. This lone T20 match will be played on 9th July 2017 at Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.