India wins again and Sri Lanka loses again, this time in one off Twenty20 International at Colombo yesterday

One thought that Sri Lanka might give a tough fight to India in this one off T20 match at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo yesterday. But India was again on the top of the poor Sri Lankans they won the match by 7 wickets.

It is 9-0 for Team India, after winning the test series 3-0, One Day International Series 5-0, now Kohli and co won the lone T20 match 1-0. Sri Lanka has been “India washed” in this whole series.

In this lone T20 game, Kohli won the toss and chose to bowl first.

India and the hosts Sri Lanka went with few changes from their ODI squad. India brought back KL Rahul as an opener and they dropped Ajinkya Rahane, Shardul Thakur and Hardik Pandya from their playing XI.

Sri Lanka persisted with Dilshan Munaweera at number 3 position. They dropped a pacer like Suranga Lakmal and lower order, inform batsman like Milinda Siriwardane. There were 4 new faces also in the Sri Lankan playing eleven.

Batting first Sri Lanka scored 170 for the loss of 7 wickets in their 20 overs.

The openers again failed to provide a good start for Sri Lanka. Skipper Tharanga was the first one to go for just 5 runs.

Two overs later, after Tharanga was dismissed Niroshan Dickewella was also out on 17. He again missed a chance to convert the start that he got.

This time around, Dilshan Munaweera seized his opportunity. He scored crucial 50 to his name. But the wickets were tumbling at the other end. Former Skipper Angelo Mathews was dismissed for just 7.

After Angelo’s wicket, Munaweera too didn’t stay for long. He wasted his opportunity to score a big ton. He was out for 53 runs.

Ashan Priyanjan scored run a ball 40. It was his innings that took Sri Lanka to decent total. Isuru Udana supported Priyanjan well with unbeaten 19. They both took Sri Lanka to 170 for 7 in 20 overs.

Indian bowlers bowled well, they were again successful in restricting the home team to a decent total.

Yuzvendra Chahal was the pick of the bowlers. He took 3 wickets for 43 runs from his 4 overs. Kuldeep Yadav also bowled well. He picked up 2 wickets and Bhunveshwar, Bumrah picked up 1 wicket each.

India didn’t start off the chase well. Rohit Sharma was the first one to depart after scoring just 9 runs.

KL Rahul tried to steady the ship but couldn’t go the distance. He was dismissed for 24 runs.

Then the match winning partnership between Kohli and Manish Pandey saw India through to another win.

Skipper Kohli  and Manish Pandey added 119 runs, Virat scored a magnificent 82 runs. He was equally well supported by Manish Pandey’s 51 not out.

Their 119 run partnership was going on well but just towards the finish line Kohli stumbled and it was Pandey who took the responsibility to see India through with MS Dhoni being not out on just 1.

India wins the match by 7 wickets with 4 balls to spare.

India ends the tour on high and Sri Lanka never looked threatening enought to beat India in this whole series. The visitors became the first touring team to beat the home side 9-0 including all the three formats.

Skipper Kohli was awarded the Man of the match for his 82 run knock. This knock is the highest by an Indian captain in T20s. Kohli became just a second player after Brendon McCullum to score 1000 T20 runs while chasing.

Next Series – India Vs Australia 5 One Day Internationals and 3 Twenty20 matches starting from September 17 2017.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.