IPL finals Mumbai vs Rising Pune Supergiants

It’s the Mumbai Indians Vs Raising Pune Supergiants in the finals of this year’s Indian Premiere League 2017.

Mumbai Indians bowlers did a fantastic job to put their team into the finals. They bowled the mighty Kolkata Knight Riders for just 107 inside the 20 overs.

It was a good to win the toss for the Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma and it was even a better decision to opt to bowl first in this do or die match against KKR.   

The bowlers responded really well for the team. They kept taking wickets at regular intervals. The MI bowlers didn’t allowed any KKR batsmen to settle on the M. Chinnaswamy wicket.

Mumbai Indians bowlers were economical and it was a good decision that they kept Mitchell Mcclenaghan out due his injury. Mitchell Johnson replaced Mcclenaghan in that crunch game and the Aussie pacer did a wonderful job for the Mumbai Indians.

Young Indian bowlers like Karn Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah were among the most wickets in that match. Even out of form pacer Lasith Malinga also took one wicket to his name.

It was Mumbai all the way. they continue to beat the Kolkata knight Riders this season. They have beaten KKR in all the 3 games that they have faced in this IPL 10.

All expected that KKR would bat well but that wasn’t the case in this match. Chris Lynn was the first to go in the 1st itself for the score of just 5 runs. His contribution in this match was only 4 runs.

His partner Sunil Narine too didn’t last long ether. In the 4th over he was also dismissed for his 10 runs.

After facing just 3 deliveries Robin Uthappa also fell to Bumrah for just 1.

A lot was expected from the captain Gautam Gambhir to steady this drowning ship, like he did in the match against SRH. But Karn Sharma got better of him. He was dismissed for just 12.

After Gambhir’s dismissal  Colin de Grandhomme couldn’t last for more than 1 ball. He was dismissed for 0 by Karn Sharma.

Then the rescue act was played by the two young Indian batsmen Suryakumar Yadav and Ishaan Jaggi. Their 56 run partnership was the only high point in that Kolkata innings.

That partnership needed to last but unfortunately Jaggi was out at the wrong time. It was that man Karn Sharma again to pick up his wicket for 28.

Some support was needed to carry the innings along but Piyush Chawla and Nathan Coulter Nile didn’t support to Suryakumar Yadav.

They were out cheaply for 2 and 6 respectively. It was the ace pacer Mitchel Johnson who their wickets.

Later Jasprit Bumrah ended Suryakumar Yadav’s innings on 28 and Lasith Malinga cleaned up Ankit Rajput to bowl out Kolkata Knight Riders for just 107 in 18.5 overs.

It seemed that Mumbai Indians would chase this small target very comfortably but the Kolkata bowlers kept the game alive.

Piyush Chawla dismissed Lendi Simmons for just 3 in the 1st over. Later Prathiv Patel and Ambati Rayudu joined Simmons in the pavilion.

Skipper Rohit Sharma and Young all rounder Krunal Pandya built a small partnership to rescue their team. their 54 run partnership almost chased down this down total but Skipper was dismissed by Coulter Nile on 26.

Then it was Kieron Pollard and Krunal Pandya who finished the game in style.

Mumbai Indians won the match by 6 wickets and 33 balls to spare. They will now meet the RPS in the finals of the IPL season 10.

Man of the Match was given to Karn Sharma for his excellent figures 4 wickets for 16 runs in his 4 overs.    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.