Narine opens again as KKR wins their Opening Match against RCB.

Image Courtesy – NDTV

#SunilNarine and #DineshKarthik Guide #KKR through a win against #RCB.

Dinesh Karthik started off his captaincy career in style with a win over RCB yesterday.

Just like last season, Sunil Narine opened for KKR and he didn’t disappoint, his 50 runs were valuable in the team’s perspective.

Dinesh Karthik won the toss and invited the RCB batsmen to bat first.

The dangerous opening pair of Brendon McCullum and Quinton De Cock opened the innings for RCB and Vinay Kumar opened the bowling for KKR.

The openers didn’t give RCB the desired start, after milking away Vinay Kumar for 14 runs in his first over, De Cock was out to Piyush Chawla for just 4 runs.

De Cock went for a fancy reverse sweep but miss times it and it gets the top edge, Vinay Kumar takes a simple catch at short man.

KKR had a great start, but they had a job to do as Virat Kohli was the next batsmen from the RCB side.

But the good thing for KKR was that Kohli wasn’t in his best of form, he looked rusty because he hasn’t played any games since the South Africa tour.

He continued his rusty innings and at the other end, McCullum was batting like a true T20 batsman.

That took some pressure off Kohli as the duo batted for some time.

Sunil Narine’s comeback over gave a big blow to RCB, Baz was clean bowled by Sunil Narine for 42 runs.

A slower delivery from Sunil Narine did the trick for the Windies spinner.
Then comes AB De Villers, this duo is most cherished in the IPL.

But Kohli’s struggle was the problem for RCB, as ABD took the responsibility and anchored the innings; he took on Sunil Narine and Kuldeep Yadav with ease.

De Villers was going on well and Kohli too got in his groove, as this partnership was looking dangerous.

But Dinesh Karthik introduced Nitish Rana the part-time that did the trick for KKR.

Rana dismissed the danger man De Villers on his 2nd ball of his 1st over.
ABD tried to pull the short delivery bowled by Rana but AB ended up getting a top edge which was caught comfortably by Johnson at deep mid wicket area. De Villers goes after entertaining 44 runs.

In the next ball of the same over Nitish Rana struck again, this with another huge blow for RCB. Skipper Virat Kohli was out; his struggling innings was ended by Rana.
A floater seam up Yorker delivery from Rana rattles the stumps of Virat Kohli. Virat was out for just 31 runs of 33 balls.

Mandeep Singh and Sarfaraz Khan were the two new batsmen for RCB. These two youngsters had a task on their hands.

They started the rebuilding process but Sarfraz Khan couldn’t go the long way. He also struggled like his captain Kohli. Sarfraz tried to a shot down the ground of the cutter delivery, but the bat twisted in his hands and he miscues the short. It went to the long on fielder Rinku Singh.

Chris Woakes came to join Mandeep Singh, as both look to get maximum runs in the last few overs.

The last over from Vinay Kumar saw 20 runs coming from it, but importantly Vinay Kumar picked two wickets which restricted the RCB batting powerhouse to just 176 in their 20 overs.

Mandeep Singh was out on 37 runs, he tried to reach out for the wide delivery outside the off stump, unfortunately, he couldn’t time it well.

It sliced up to the sweeper cover fielder Kuldeep Yadav. Mandeep was out after scoring 37 runs.

Chris Woakes was the last man dismissed by Vinay. A full and wide delivery which took the toe end of the bat and Andre Russel takes a good catch. Woakes for 5 runs.

RCB didn’t start well and they didn’t end well, they managed 176 runs in their 20 overs.

For KKR Vinay Kumar and Nitish Rana took 2 wickets each with them Piyush Chawla, Sunil Narine and Mitchell Johnson took 1 wicket each to their name.

The chase of 177 runs wasn’t a great one for KKR. Even though Sunil Narine batted well but Chris Lynn didn’t support his partner well.

Sunil Narine took on Chahal in his first over, Chahal gave away 12 runs.
KKR started off well, but Chris Woakes gave a good break through to RCB.

Lynn was out in the 1st over.
It was a slower ball but short in length, Lynn goes for a biggie but miss times it over mid-on field. AB De Villers takes the catch.

Lynn goes after scoring just 4 runs. ABD holds the record of holding the most catches in the IPL history.

Robin Uthappa comes to bat at number 3 with Sunil Narine was already bat well.

KKR was going really well in this chase, Sunil Narine was taking on the RCB bowlers and Uthappa was also getting into his groove.

These were the danger signs for RCB; they needed a quick breakthrough, that came in the 5th over.

Umesh Yadav was the one who gave a big blow to KKR, Sunil Narine was out after reaching to his 50. Umesh bowls a full toss delivery as Sunil Narine goes for an expensive drive but ended up getting the inside edge back on to his stumps, Narine departs for 50 runs.

Nitish Rana comes in to bat with Robin Uthappa, who was already set.

Nitish Rana also started off well, as Robin and Nitish looked to come close to the target set by RCB.

But Umesh Yadav strikes again, after picking up Sunil Narine, Umesh gives another blow to the KKR.

Robin Uthappa goes for 13 runs; Umesh bowled a short and quick delivery as Robin goes through the short and miss times. He gets the top edge and gives an easy catch to Baz at the point region. Uthappa goes for 13 runs.

The skipper comes out to bat as KKR were looking to chase the target down easily.

Both the batsmen go along nicely, the target was getting closer to KKR and again RCB were searching for the breakthrough.

Nitish Rana who was playing so well was out to Sundar after scoring 34 runs.

Sundar bowls a length delivery when Rana goes for sweep short, the ball hits the top of his leg. Rana was caught plumb in front, he was out after scoring 34 runs.

Then Rinku Singh comes into the crease with his skipper Dinesh Karthik.

But he perishes early, after hit a lovely boundary Rinku was caught behind by De Cock.

Rinku tried to play a cut short on the short delivery bowled by Woakes, Singh couldn’t read the angle and had a faint nick. Rinku Singh goes for just 6 runs.

Andre Russel came in to support DK and he wasted no time to take on the RCB bowlers.

But he couldn’t take his team through the line, Russel was out after playing a little cameo.

Russel tried to fetch the full and wide delivery. AB ran back and takes a stunner to dismiss Andre Russel for 16 runs.

Vinay Kumar comes to the crease, but Dinesh Karthik had a job to do and he does it just like he did it in the Nidahas Trophy final.

Dinesh Karthik guides his team through another run chase. He was unbeaten on 35 runs with Vinay Kumar was not out on 6 runs.

KKR won the match by 4 wickets and 7 balls to spare.

The RCB bowlers couldn’t get wickets at regular intervals. They tried but it was not their night.

Chris Woakes took 3 wickets, Umesh Yadav took 2 wickets and Washington Sundar took 1 wicket each.

Sunil Narine was awarded the man of the match for his 50 run knocks from just 17 balls.

Read Also: Bravo Seals a thrilling match for CSK


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.