Mumbai Indians are the champions of the Vivo Indian Premiere League 2017. They beat the Raising Pune Supergiant by one run in a thriller match

This is the 3rd time that Mumbai Indians have won the IPL title. It’s the most by any team in 10 seasons of IPL.

By winning this title, now Rohit Sharma has become the most successful captain in the history of IPL.

In the all-important final Mumbai Indians won the toss and opted to bat first.

It didn’t prove a great decision by skipper Rohit Sharma to bat first. When their batsmen were getting out cheaply to the Raising Pune Supergiant bowlers. Mumbai Indians openers Parthiv Patel where was the first one to go few balls later Lendi Simons too joined his partner at the pavilion. Simons was dismissed due to a brilliant one-handed catch by Javdev Undakat on his follow through.

After the openers dismissed cheaply, skipper Rohit Sharma and Amabati Rayudu tried to rescue the team from the trouble but their 33 run partnership couldn’t last long because of brilliant fielding by the RPS skipper Steve Smith. Amabati Rayudu was run out for just 12.

In the quest for some quick runs, Rohit Sharma too gave his wicket away to Adam Zampa for 24.

Big man Kieron Pollard to couldn’t last long after hitting a huge six he tried to replicate that shot again but he failed to clear the boundary he was dismissed by the Aussie spinner Adam Zampa for just 7.

A lot was expected from Hardik Pandya but he couldn’t support his brother at the other end. He was dismissed by Daniel Christian for 10.

Mumbai Indians were in all sought of trouble; they were reeling at 79 for 7 in the 14th over. But Krunal Pandya played yet another amazing knock under pressure. His 48 runs added some relief. Krunal Pandya and Mitchell Johnson shared a much needed partnership for the MI team. their 50 runs partnership gave the bowlers something to bowl at.

From being 79 for 7 at one stage, this partnership took the score to 129 for 8. Krunal Pandya was out on the last ball.

The target for the Raising Pune Supergiant was the modest one. Everyone thought it would be an easy chase and again RPS will dominate against MI.

But it wasn’t so Mumbai Indians bowled their heart out in defending this score.

The Raising Pune Supergiant had a bad start, Jasprit Bumrah picked up the first wicket of Rahul Tripathi for just 3.

It was Ajinkya Rahane and skipper Steve Smith whose 54 run partnership allowed RPS to stay in the hunt. The camp of RPS believed that they could chase the target till these two are batting.

But the wicket of Ajinkya Rahane opened the match and it was very surprising to see MS Dhoni ahead of in-form batsman Manoj Tiwari.

That decision to promote Dhoni didn’t work this time around. It was Jasprit Bumrah again the man to pick up his wicket for just 10.

Later Smith and Tiwary tried to score some quick runs of Mitchell Johnson in the last over. But both managed to give their wickets away to the Aussie bowler.

Daniel Christen was expected to clear the boundary ropes easily when 4 runs were required from the last ball. But both the batsmen Daniel Christen and Washington Sundar could run only 2 while taking the 3rd run Sundar was run out that allowed the Mumbai Indians to win this thriller by 1 run.

It was an amazing finish to the tournament one thought that it would be the RPS all the way but Mumbai Indians bowlers did a great job and performed really well under pressure.

Mitchell Johnson, Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga bowled their hearts out in this thrilling win.

One can’t forget the contribution of Krunal Pandya. His 48 run knock allowed the team to be in the game. He was also awarded the man of the match for his wonderful effort in the final.

Next Tournament – ICC Champions Trophy in England from 1st June 2017 to 18th June 2017.          

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.