The History of ICC Champions Trophy

The 8th edition of ICC Champions Trophy is coming live from 1st June 2018 in England and Wales before the mega ICC tournament starts let’s relive the past history of this World tournament.

  • ICC KnockOut Trophy in 1998, Bangladesh –

It all started in 1998; Today’s ICC Champions Trophy was known as ICC KnockOut Trophy. Officially it was known as the Wills International Cup. The International Cricket Council got this idea to conduct a short tournament to raise funds for the development of the game in non-test playing countries.  However, this tournament got the importance like the World Cup. So this tournament is still known as the Mini World Cup for many. The ICC planned a knockout tournament for the full members of the ICC. From there on the ICC Knockout Trophy started to take pace.

The ICC Knockout Trophy in 1998 was held in Bangladesh, The ICC decided to promote the game in this Asian country. Although Bangladesh couldn’t participate in that tournament because they were not a test playing nation at that time, despite of winning 1987 ICC Trophy and qualifying the 1999 Cricket World Cup.

South Africa was the first champions of the ICC KnockOut Trophy.  It is still only the ICC trophy they have at the moment. West Indies were the runners-up of that tournament.

  • ICC KnockOut Trophy in 2000, Kenya –

The second season of the ICC KnockOut Trophy was held in Kenya. This tournament saw India’s Middle order batsmen Yuvraj Singh and West Indian all-rounder Marlon Samuels made their ODI debut for their respective countries.

In that tournament, all the 11 test playing nations participated along with Bangladesh and hosts Kenya.

While the tournament progressed 3 teams would certainly miss out the quarter-final spot. So playoff stage took place between 6 of the lowest ranked teams.

However, India and New Zealand managed to qualify to the final but it was the Kiwis who were champions of the ICC KnockOut Trophy in 2000 and India were left as the runners-up of that tournament. Like South Africa, New Zealand also has only one ICC title till now.

  • ICC Champions Trophy in 2002, Sri Lanka –

This was 3rd edition of the ICC KnockOut Trophy but this time it was named as ICC Champions Trophy and it was held in Sri Lanka.  This tournament was to be held in India but due to exemption from tax in India was not granted it was moved to Sri Lanka.

12 test playing teams participated in that tournament. 10 test playing nations with Kenya and The Netherlands.

The teams split into the 4 groups of 3 teams each. Each team played other 2 teams once in the league stage and the four teams that lead in each pool proceeded to the Semi-Finals. It was Australia, South Africa, India and host Sri Lanka were in the semis. Australia lost to Sri Lanka and India beat the Proteas.

The final of this tournament was between the 2 Asian giants. But Rain Gods played a role of spoil sport.  The Final between India and Sri Lanka was washed out twice, so for the time, two hands were on the trophy. India and Sri Lanka have jointly shared the Champions Trophy.

  • ICC Champions Trophy in  2004, England –

The 2004 ICC Champions Trophy was held in England. 12 teams competed in 15 matches spread over 16 days at 3 venues. With 10 test playing nations Kenya and the United States made their ODI debut. The United States also played the 2003 World Cup and they won the 2004 ICC Six Nation Challenge.

Like the 2002 edition of the Champion Trophy, 4 groups were made and 3 teams would face each other once in that group.

The semi-final was played between Australia and England, West Indies and Pakistan. Australia and Pakistan lost their important match and England faced the West Indies in the finals.

It was Even Stevens in the final but The Windies held their nerves and became the Champions of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2004. England fought hard but ended as the runners of that tournament.

  • ICC Champions Trophy in 2006, India –

The 5th edition of the ICC Champions Trophy was held in India. This tournament was held from October 7th 2006 to November 5th 2006.

That edition of the Champion Trophy was an unpredictable one.  For the first time no Asian de-qualified for the semi-final spot since Cricket World Cup of 1975.

The semi finalist of that tournament was Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies.

Australia and West Indies was the finalist of that edition. But the Australian bowlers did Wonderful job by dismissing the West Indian batting unit for just 138. Australia won the match and they were the Champions of the ICC Champions Trophy. The Aussies won the match by 8 wickets in the end.

  • ICC Champions Trophy in 2009, South Africa –

The sixth edition of the ICC Champions Trophy was held in South Africa from 22nd September to 5th October. The two teams from two group of four qualified for the semis.

Australia and New Zealand were the finalist of that tournament. That edition of the ICC Champions Trophy saw Australia defend their Champions Trophy title. They are the first team to defend their title in the history of ICC Champions Trophy. The Aussies won the final by 6 wickets. The Blackcaps were the runners of the tournament.

  • ICC Champions Trophy in 2013, England –

After the gap of nearly 3 years, the ICC Champions Trophy was back in England. This was the 7th Champions Trophy edition and the second time that it was played in England. India won their 2nd Champions Trophy title. They won against South Africa, the West Indies and Pakistan in the group stage, followed by a semi-final victory over Sri Lanka and a narrow 5 run win against Englt wasand. India received a huge amount of $2 million as prize money.

This edition in 2013 was said to be the last edition of the Champions Trophy it to be replaced by the ICC World Test Championship in 2017, but in January 2014, it was instead confirmed by the ICC that a Champions Trophy tournament would take place in 2017, with the proposed Test Championship being cancelled.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.