Virat’s Men Shine at Dhoni’s hometown yesterday.


It was a dominating performance from Team India in Ranchi yesterday. Indian Bowlers again were top of the Kangaroos at the JSCA International Complex.

Australia has a new captain for this T20 series; David Warner would lead this Australian side because of the shoulder injury to Steve Smith.   

Unfortunately for Australia Warner too could not prevent his team from losing this first T20.

In this 1st T20 International, India won the toss and opted to bowl first.

The dangerous opening pair of David Warner and Aaron Finch wanted to continue their form like they did in last 3 ODIs.

David Warner started to show his aggressive intent when he hit Bhuvneshwar Kumar for two boundaries in the first over. But it was Bhuvi who had the last laugh by dismissing his IPL captain for just 8.

Glenn Maxwell was promoted at number 3 in absence of their regular number 3 batsman Steve Smith. Maxwell who had a poor run in the ODI series started to look good here.

Maxwell and Finch shared a much-needed partner, this dangerous duo added 47 runs and they were looking good.

But it was Chahal again who dismissed Maxi for 17 runs. Maxi wanted to pull the short ball instead,  he gave an easy catch to Jasprit Bumrah. This is the 5th successive time that Chahal has dismissed Glenn Maxwell.

After the Big Show’s fall, Australian innings collapse just like the One Day series. This Australian batting unit has always wasted a good start.

The visitors had high hopes on Aaron Finch, but Kuldeep Yadav was the man to clean bowled this dangerous Aussie opener for 42 runs.

Then, the experience of Moises Henriques too could not carry Australia a long way, he was again clean bowled for just 9 runs by the chinaman Kuldeep Yadav.

Travis Head, who had a poor run in the ODI series again failed to deliver. This time Hardik Pandya ends his innings on 8 runs.

Wicketkeeper Batsman Tim Paine replaced Matthew Wade for this T20 series. But Paine did chose to do what Wade has done for Australia. Jasprit Bumrah cleans up Paine for 17 runs.

Bumrah had two wickets in that over, after Paine, he castles Nathan Coulter Nile for just 1 run.

Daniel Christian,  another experienced campaigner, but his experience went in vain as he took on the Indian Skipper arm. That magnificent throw from Virat Kohli from the long on position saw the end of Daniel Christian for 9 runs.

Australia was in deep trouble, it looked like they won’t even bat the 20 overs. But rain gods came into their rescue.

The play was stopped; Australia was reeling at 118 for 8 in 18.4 overs. The visitors thought they might save this game.

But that was not the case after few hours covers were taken off and the play was resumed. Australian innings was ended on 118 for the loss of 8 wickets.

It was a clinical performance by the Indian bowlers, they were again successful in restricting Australia to a low score.

Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav were pick of the bowlers for the hosts. They pick up 2 wickets each. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya and Yuzvendra Chahal picked up 1 wicket each.  6 Aussie batsmen were bowled in their innings which is the most and it equals a record.

Then the Duckworth Lewis came into play and India was set an easy target of 48 runs in 6 overs.

The Indian openers were back on the field after a long interruption.

Rohit Sharma and comeback man Shikhar Dhawan started the Indian innings.

Rohit Sharma continued his brilliance and Shikhar took some time to settle.

Rohit was looking good but Nathan Coulter Nile was better on the day. He clean bowled Rohit for 11 runs.

Then Skipper Kohli the number one T20 batsman again played a match-winning innings to see India through to another T20 win.

India chased down this tricky target with 3 balls to spare. Kohli was unbeaten on 22 and Shikhar Dhawan was not out on 15 runs.

India won this match by 9 wickets due to D/L method and lead the 3 match T20I series 1-0.

This is 7th  successive win for India over the Australians. Australia hasn’t won a T20I game against India since 2012 in Colombo.

David Warner had his first loss as captain.

Man of the match was awarded to Kuldeep Yadav for his awesome bowling performance.

Next Match is on Tuesday 10th October 2017 at Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Assam, Guwahati.  



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.